Dr. Manuel Servin Faculty Award

Manuel Servin

Historian, professor, and editor, Professor Servin was born in El Paso, Texas but grew up in Calexico, California. He served in the U.S. Air Force during World War II and took advantage of the G.I. Bill to pursue a college education. Professor Servin earned a BA in Liberal Arts (1949) and his MA (1954) and his PhD (1959) in Mexican and Latin American History from the University of Southern California. Professor Servin joined the ASU faculty in 1970, after teaching at El Camino College and USC.

In 1970, Professor Servin quickly shined at ASU when he published one of the early collections of historical essays on the Chicano experience. He also served as editor of historical journals of the Southwest, enabling many Chicano students to publish articles on the Chicano experience. Professor Servin continued to train graduate students in Chicano history until poor health forced him into retirement. 

Professor Servin's dedication to scholarly research, study of the Chicano experience, and mentorship of Chicano students brought regional visibility and recognition to ASU. In honor of these achievements, the ASU CLFSA recognizes an ASU faculty member who exemplifies: achievement in research, Mentorship of Hispanic students, Leadership at ASU/the community and Community service/involvement.

Dr. Manuel Servin Faculty Award
Honorees since 1994

2022 – Dr. Vanessa Fonseca Chavez
2021 – Vanessa Fonseca-Chávez
2020 – Dean and Professor Jonathan Koppell
2019 – Dr. Evan Santos Scannapieco
2018 – Dr. Nancy Gonzales
2017 – Dr. Sujey Vega
2016 – Dr. Carlos E. Santos
2015 – Dr. Delia Saenz
2014 – Dr. Michelle Tellez
2013 – Dr. Erika Camacho
2012 – Dr. Maria Adelaida Restrepo
2011 – Dr. Gabriel Q. Shaibi

2010 – Dr. Caroline S. V. Turner
2009 – Dr. Lisa Magaña
2008 – Dr. Cordelia C. Candelaria
2007 – Regents' Professor Carlos Castillo-Chavez
2006 – Dr. Orde Kittrie
2005 – Dr. Manuel de Jesus Hernandez-Gutierrez
2004 – Dr. Miguel Montiel
2003 – Dr. Antonio Garcia
2002 – Dr. Lisa Magaña
2001 – Regents' Professor Gary D. Keller-Cárdenas

2000 – Dr. Alberto L. Pulido
1999 – Dr. Edward J. Escobar
1998 – Dr. Justo S. Alarcon
1997 – Dr. F. Arturo Rosales
1996 – Dr. Leonard A. Valverde
1995 – Dr. Joaquin Bustoz
1994 – Dr. Raymond Padilla